• Growing Viral
  • Posts
  • STORYTELLING MASTERCLASS: HOW NIKE & PATAGONIA USE STORYTELLING

STORYTELLING MASTERCLASS: HOW NIKE & PATAGONIA USE STORYTELLING

5 Storytelling lessons from Nike & Patagonia + my 3 favourite storytelling tips...

In partnership with

Morning!

It’s my birthday tomorrow (on Sunday). I’m turning 23. Jesus, that feels old. I’ve done so much so far in life, yet seeing that number increase still feels scary.

Anyway, here’s what I’ve got for you - a 3-piece storytelling special:

Part 1: How Nike made us fall in love through storytelling

Part 2: How Patagonia built a cult through storytelling

Part 3: My 3 favourite storytelling tips

Let’s get into it!

P.S. Don’t forget you can listen to the audio version of this breakdown by hitting the button below

LISTEN TO THE AUDIO VERSION

BREAKING DOWN THE STRATEGY

Over the last few months, I’ve been spending hours analysing how the best brands use storytelling in their marketing.

It’s all well and good reading the books, listening to podcasts, and experimenting on your own.

But if you really want to know how to effectively use storytelling in your marketing, you have to take time to study how great brands do it.

So, I made a commitment to myself that over the next 3 months, I’d study 1 brand per week and break down how they use storytelling on my LinkedIn (you’ll find them in a carousel format there.)

But a few hours into my research, I realised that there was way too much to cover in just a LinkedIn post, so… I’m giving you the extended version.

Starting with 2 of the most incredible storytelling brands I know:

Nike: Storytelling Masterclass

Everyone loves Nike.

It’s the most popular sports brand on the planet, but it’s also so much more than that at the same time.

Yet it’s not like the products are any better than their competitors.

  • They don’t have some magic material

  • They don’t have a secret formula

They just do one thing better than any brand on the planet:

  • Tell stories

A few weeks back, I analysed 57 Nike ads to get to grips with exactly how they use those stories in their marketing.

Here are the 3 key principles they always fall back on:

1) Never Be The Hero

Nike ads rarely highlight Nike products - which is almost the opposite approach to their competitors.

Instead, they position Nike athletes/wearers as the heroes.

They show:

  • Serena Williams competing at her best - while wearing Nike.

  • Colin Kaepernick standing up for what is right - while wearing Nike.

  • Cristiano becoming an all-time great - while wearing Nike.

This gives off a simple message to all of us consumers:

→ It makes us feel like we can be great if we wear Nike

Like it’s our story, and Nike are just a part of it.

This ad is a prime example of it in action:

2) Up The Stakes

Upping the stakes is storytelling 101. The more that’s on the line, the more interesting the story is.

Which is why in most films nowadays the world is ending. Because it means everything is at stake.

But Nike does an insanely good job of integrating this into their marketing.

Like in this ad:

It’s not about winning games or scoring goals. It’s always about more than that.

(Which is why a lot of Nike ads feel so intense.)

3) Have An Obstacle

One of the storytelling tips I’m going to give at the end talks about this, so I don’t want to spoil the surprise.

But just notice how the main characters in Nike ads are always trying to overcome something.

  • They’re battling obesity.

  • Battling as a minority in the sport.

  • Trying to play their way out of a rough situation.

It’s never an easy path to “Success”, it always shows them having to overcome something.

Like in this ad where the fencer is overcoming never having a hero:

This simple storytelling trick does a host of things, but the main effect it has on consumers is the way it positions Nike as the solution to your problems.

Want to change your situation? Do it wearing Nike.

Patagonia: Storytelling Masterclass

Now on to Patagonia.

Patagonia are nowhere near as big as Nike or as cool or as popular. But what they do have is a cult following like no other.

The people who wear Patagonia would die by Patagonia.

How did they create this cult? Storytelling.

Here are 2 key storytelling principles they use:

1) Have An Enemy

Nothing brings people together like an enemy does and every cult has one.

For every Harry Potter, there needs to be a Voldemort.

(And the same goes for brands.)

If you battle against something (or someone) then everyone who also hates that thing (or person) becomes a supporter of your brand.

And Patagonia does this masterfully.

If you’re anti-fast fashion, you are automatically pro-Patagonia.

Half of their website is on this battle vs on their own products.

2) Talk To The Reader

Too many brands fall into the trap of talking AT the reader.

WE have a sale on.
WE have just released this.
WE are doing this great thing.

It almost creates this separation, like a clear dividing line between themselves and consumers.

Patagonia gets around this by using a simple storytelling trick that authors have used for centuries.

At certain times, they talk directly to the reader.

Like in this ad:

They just ask “See Amy’s jacket?” right in the middle of an ad.

It makes you feel like they are talking directly to you.

It’s such a small addition, but it’s a huge piece of Patagonia’s marketing puzzle.

My 3 Favourite Storytelling Tips:

Granted, I’m not quite Phil Knight or the CMO of Patagonia. But over the last 3 years, I’ve written stories for 100s of CEOs & founders across the world.

During that time I’ve tried endless storytelling tips & tricks, but these are the only 3 that I’ve come back to time and time again:

1) Worship Intention + Obstacle

A few months back I heard this quote from Aaron Sorkin:

“I worship at the alter of intention & obstacle”

If you don’t know Aaron Sorkin, he’s the director behind films like:

  • The Social Network

  • Molly’s Game

  • Trial of the Chicago Seven

Plus, a boatload more.

He clearly knows more about great storytelling than I do.

That line has stuck with me ever since I heard it and I’ve been using it a bunch when it comes to my posts on LinkedIn.

It ties in perfectly with Nike ads too, each ad has:

Intention - someone trying to achieve something.
Obstacle - something holding them back.

In fact, all great stories do.

So if you’re looking to tell great stories, always make sure you focus on 2 things. The intention and the obstacle.

It’s a tip I’ll always keep in my back pocket.

2) Always Use Contrast

I spent an hour last Friday preaching to my team about how important contrast is when it comes to writing content/stories.

For me, contrast is the best way to hook anyone into your work.

How do you do it?

  1. Find something positive

  2. Find something negative

  3. Put them next to each other

Here’s a couple of examples of how that works in marketing:

For a LinkedIn hook

“I am a horrific CEO. Yet I currently manage a team of 13.”

For an ad for Athletic Greens

“Your body misses out on 70% of the nutrients it needs. This small cup contains them all.”

Contrast. An essential requirement for any story.

3) Think In 3 Acts

I think 99% of frameworks are massively overrated.

But I simply can’t shake off the 3-act-structure when it comes to writing stories.

Here’s how it looks in theory:

Act 1: Set Up
Act 2: Confrontation
Act 3: Resolution

Here’s how it could look in a piece of content for example:

Act 1: The hook of the piece
Act 2: The story unfolds
Act 3: Concludes with key takeaway or CTA

This is probably the one tip that you’re most likely to ignore, but if you just spend 5 minutes reading any good content - you’ll realise 90% of the time that it follows this structure.

 🌱 THE GREENHOUSE

Things I’ve saved this week that are worth seeing:

  • Kurt Vonnegut on storytelling. (See here)

  • My carousel on storytelling on LinkedIn. (See here)

  • Possibly my favourite graphic ever. (See here)

TL;DR

NIKE STORYTELLING:

1/ Never Be The Hero
2/ Up The Stakes
3/ Have An Obstacle

PATAGONIA STORYTELLING:

1/ Have An Enemy
2/ Talk To The Reader

MY BEST STORYTELLING TIPS:

1/ Worship Intention + Obstacle
2/ Always Use Contrast
3/ Think In 3 Acts

This is truly one of my favourite breakdowns that I’ve ever written. I love storytelling, but more importantly how brands can utilise it in their marketing.

Another breakdown in the locker and another birthday done for me.

Let’s hope 23 is even better than 22.

Enjoy this? Why not send it to a friend - maybe they’ll appreciate it!

Until next Sunday.

— Niall

WAIT… BEFORE YOU GO

Thoughts on this week's breakdown?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

If you’ve read this far, why not see how else I can help you:

  • Follow me on Twitter for more marketing stuff.

  • Connect with me on LinkedIn to follow my business journey.

  • Want to work with me? Start HERE.

THAT’S ALL!

This has been a storytelling masterclass. I hope you have learned something and can implement a similar strategy in your business!

Don’t forget to subscribe to get next week’s breakdown straight to your inbox!